Sunday, September 1, 2013

The Wishing Thread

The Wishing Thread by Lisa Van Allen is available at Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and BooksAMillion.

The Blurb
For fans of Jennifer Chiaverini and Sarah Addison Allen, The Wishing Thread is an enchanting novel about the bonds between sisters, the indelible pull of the past, and the transformational power of love.

The Van Ripper women have been the talk of Tarrytown, New York, for centuries. Some say they’re angels; some say they’re crooks. In their tumbledown “Stitchery,” not far from the stomping grounds of the legendary Headless Horseman, the Van Ripper sisters—Aubrey, Bitty, and Meggie—are said to knit people’s most ardent wishes into beautiful scarves and mittens, granting them health, success, or even a blossoming romance. But for the magic to work, sacrifices must be made—and no one knows that better than the Van Rippers.

When the Stitchery matriarch, Mariah, dies, she leaves the yarn shop to her three nieces. Aubrey, shy and reliable, has dedicated her life to weaving spells for the community, though her sisters have long stayed away. Bitty, pragmatic and persistent, has always been skeptical of magic and wants her children to have a normal, nonmagical life. Meggie, restless and free-spirited, follows her own set of rules. Now, after Mariah’s death forces a reunion, the sisters must reassess the state of their lives even as they decide the fate of the Stitchery. But their relationships with one another—and their beliefs in magic—are put to the test. Will the threads hold?

My Review
The Wishing Thread by Lisa Van Allen
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I liked the story - as promised, it's very reminiscent of Sarah Addison and Alice Hoffman. The book utilizes the same symbols -like the phone tree from the movie version of Practical Magic- with a spin to fit this plot.

The downside, there's a lot of telling dispersed with showing.

Despite that, I found myself looking forward to my next reading session with this book. The characters hooked me: a thirty-something eldest sister (Bitty) who married for security after a childhood in poverty and now has two kids; the twenty-old year social dweeb (Aubrey) who just happened to be a virgin and the guardian of their magical childhood home, The Stitchery, which was both a blessing and a curse to the family; and the rebelling younger sister (Meggie) who ran away, looking for...(no spoilers). I wanted to know where the characters were going as the story unfolded.

I received an uncorrected proof copy of this book in exchange for a review. There were some editing mishaps but they should be fixed in the final version.

View all my reviews

No comments: